Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Men in Blue vs Black Caps - Can New Zealand challenge India's strong home record?

Team India started the new year in style by sealing both T20 and ODI series against Sri Lanka at home. Riding high on immense confidence from this win, the Men in Blue gear up for another exciting contest against New Zealand. After winning the ODI series in Pakistan, the Black Caps will tour India for 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is. While the ODI series begins from January 18 to 24, the T20 series will commence from January 27 to February 1. Watch Ind vs NZ live on YuppTV and never miss the action.

After completing a whitewash 3-0 against Sri Lanka, Rohit Sharma-led India is all set to face New Zealand in Hyderabad for the first ODI on January 18. It will be interesting to see how Indian batters prepare themselves for a batting paradise in Hyderabad's Rajiv Gandhi Stadium. The second and third ODIs will be played at Raipur and Indore on January 21 and 24 respectively. KL Rahul and Axar Patel opted out of the series due to family commitments helping wicket-keeper batsman KS Bharath get his maiden call to play in the white ball series. Hardik Pandya will lead the side in the T20Is starting from January 27. Ranchi, Lucknow and Ahmedabad will host the three T20Is on Earlier on January 27, 29 and February 1. Earlier on Sunday, India created history at Thiruvananthapuram when they defeated visitors Sri Lanka by a record margin of 317 in the third ODI. Centuries from young Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli helped India to win this game and series. Virat scored two tons in three matches and bagged the Player of the Series award. Mohd Siraj was brilliant with the new ball.

On the other hand, New Zealand tours India after sealing a stunning ODI series win against Pakistan in Pakistan. However, Kane Williamson and Tim Southee's unavailability is a matter of great concern for the side, given their experience on Indian grounds. Injuries gave early blows to the Black Caps as Adam Milne is withdrawn and Matt Henry returned home to recover. Tom Latham gets a fantastic opportunity to captain the side in Indian conditions.

New Zealand tour of India fixture:

1st ODI - 18th January - Hyderabad

2nd ODI - 21st January - Raipur

3rd ODI - 24th January - Indore

1st T20I - 27th January - Ranchi

2nd T20I - 29th January - Lucknow

3rd T20I - 1st  February - Ahmedabad

Team India for ODIs -  Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik

Team India for T20Is: Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Ishan Kishan (WK), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

New Zealand ODI squad: Tom Latham (C), Finn Allen, Doug Bracewell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Watch Ind vs NZ live on YuppTV and get all the match-related updates.